Wear Area Battle – a close run thing!

From Tony Mearman

An excellent support from 21 DPS members at the annual “Wear Area Battle”, hosted every year since 1986 by Washington Camera Club. We enjoyed an exciting evening in a packed meeting room viewing the entries from DPS and 8 other clubs in the Wear region.

The judge for the evening was Alan Porrett DPAGB EFIAP APAGB who awarded marks out of 30 to determine the winning club and best individual photograph.

The other competing camera clubs were:

  • Castleside and District

  • Chester le Street

  • Consett and District

  • Esh Winning and District

  • Stanhope

  • Sunderland

  • Washington

  • Wear Valley

It was a very close run competition with 3 clubs tying for first place on 160 points with Washington, Consett and DPS all sharing the honour of winning the 31st annual competition. With a score of 29 points, Joe Grabham had the highest marks in the DPS entries for his enchanting portrait “Towards the Light”. Our image entries and scores were as follows:

  • Abandoned by Tony Mearman 25 points

  • In the Heat of the Moment by Jed Wee 28 points

  • River Etive by Ivor Miller 26 points

  • Special Girl by Tony Mearman 24 points

  • Stefan Bradi Moto GP by Michael Watson 28 points

  • Towards the Light by Joe Grabham 29 points

Thank you to Jed, Ivor, Michael and Joe for submitting their superb images to the competition.

The winning image from Washington CC achieving the top score of 30 points was “Finally Home” a superb photograph of a Lancaster bomber with its flight crew depicted to be returning home following a bombing mission.

Last year Washington CC won the Wear Area Trophy and suggested Consett and DPS each hold the trophy for 6 months and following the toss of a coin, DPS will hold the trophy for the next 6 months before handing it over to Consett.


External Competitions Secretary

25th November 2017

Pictured: Durham’s entry, group shot and the trophy

Abandoned. Tony MearmanIn the Heat of the Moment. Jed WeeRiver Etive. Ivor Miller

Special Girl. Tony MearmanTowards the Light. Joe GrabhamStefan Bradl Moto GP-1. Michael Watson

         Trophy            DPS

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.